Sent to the Jordanian Ministry Of Tourism By a Reader. 

Dear Jordan,

I can’t begin to thank you enough for having me stay during the spring break holiday.

I have been blessed with the opportunity to travel to many countries around the globe. This was by far one of the most enjoyable and memorable trips I have ever been on. I was a bit apprehensive in coming because this was the first trip where I had traveled solo without the company of my family. Not long after my arrival my fears of awkwardness and foreigners evaporated when I began interacting with your country men and women. They put me at ease and made me feel that I was welcome and at home.

The first thing that grabbed my attention is the pride your people have, not only in who they are but for the country in which they live in.  You can see and sense their pride in the way they keep their streets clean, they way the abide by the law of the land and the traffic and especially in the way that your people greet and speak politely with their own kin’s men and the visitors that come to tour your land rich in our world’s history. Their words were so warm and friendly you couldn’t help but be put at ease. I wish other nationals from other countries would be as gracious and speak to their own and to others that way. Perhaps then, there wouldn’t be so much animosity and negativity boiling beneath the surface of their skin.

Your landscapes from the south to the north were not only diverse but mystifying as well as breathtaking. The desert of Wadi Rum with its multi coloured sand, tranquil silence and natural beauty was rejuvenating for my ears, eyes but mostly my mind.

Your Hidden City of Petra had me standing motionless, open-mouthed gaping in aw and marveling at its architectural genius and complexity. It has won my vote for ‘The New Seventh Wonder of The World’ and anyone who disputes it needs to have their eyes checked and an MRI scan.

Your castles in Karak and Ajlun were educational as well as fascinating. My imagination was left to wonder at what their grounds may have looked like back in their prime. As I walked in the court yards, passage ways and tunnels I strained to hear the voices from the past. Walking where Salah El Din, one of the Middle East’s greatest hero and warriors had once been was enough to satisfy my curiosity.

Mount Nebo was perhaps one of the most over whelming places I have been to. The only other place where I was over come with such a powerful over flow of emotion was The World War II (British) Cemetery in Al Alamain, in Egypt. The religious and historical significance of the place brings people from all over the world and the moment that they stand over looking the view that Moses saw many years ago, just for a brief moment I could feel time stop, guards drop, prejudices forgotten and ‘we’ as human beings were all equal.   

Jordan you may not be one of the wealthiest countries on the planet but you certainly are one of the richest when it comes to history and cultural heritage. You have so much to be proud of and I want to thank you for sharing your treasures with me.

Though my time in your country was short, I took a piece of it with me. Upon my departure I left with a song in my heart, a smile upon my face and vow to return again to your majestic land again some day.

 With best wishes for a prosperous and happy future

Nadia. M.N El Abdin

