When the event appeared on my facebook minifeed page, I honestly thought it was a joke. Why on God’s Green Earth would Martin Scorsese come to speak at the Alexandria Library the day before Christmas wouldn’t he rather be home in New York with his family for the holidays? I checked myself off as attending, just incase, because I wouldn’t want to miss out on hearing a legend like him speaking in the city I love and call home.

I was skeptical about him really attending, the reason being, the last time an International star was supposed to come to the Library it turned out to be a farce. The Library was still  in the negotiating stages with Andrea’s camp to have him come and perform but they were already selling tickets. The reason I didn’t rush to the ticket stand to buy my ticket to hear the GREAT Andrea Bocceli sing was because that little voice inside of me said…’don’t buy it now, wait and see what happens.” I checked his home page and Alexandria wasn’t even on his agenda ! Those who had bought tickets had to wait quite some time before getting their money back. (I’m glad I went with my gut instinct)

Tomorrow Scorsese is expected to be at the Alexandria Library and so far it has been confirmed that he will be there and that the debate (?) that is supposed to take place will be open for the public. I am going to try my best to get there as early as possible so that I will have a good seat to watch and listen.

I’ll keep you posted.

