My Dad is quite a traditional man and has some rules that my sister and I think belong back in the 1800’s. Just to give you some idea as to what I mean. As kids we were never allowed to sleep over at friends houses unless it was some dire emergency, never allowed to go on an over night school trip, dating  and boy friends are still a big NO! NO!, staying out past 11pm is out of the question, because ‘respectable’ girls/ladies would not be out that late’ and we are NOT allowed to go out to celebrate New Years! Why…? ‘Because, I said so and I am your father!’

So, I tend to get a little depressed when I hear about my friends making their GRAND plans for celebrating New Years and fretting over what outfit to wear. I usually go to bed at 10pm in silent protest.

Only recently am I feeling a bit thankful that I don’t go out on New Years Eve, the prices that people have to pay to reserve are just astronomical! If Christmas wasn’t enough to send you in to bankrupcy, New Year’s definitely will.

This year however, I would love to be out in the desert for New Years to be able to see the 2nd full moon of the month of December in the sky, lighting up the desert or on the top of St. Catherine’s in Sinai. They are calling it the Rare New Year’s Eve ‘blue moon’.

I’ve decide that this rare occasion is a sign of what’s to come this year. It’s going to be a GOOD, GOOD YEAR, where miracles will happen, dreams, prayers and wishes will come true, fortunes will be made and loves will be found.

To read more about the ‘blue moon’ it click here;

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20091230/ap_on_sc/us_sci_blue_moon

