I’ve been stuck at home for the past week with ‘Acute Tonsilitis’! It hurts like the dickens and I hate being ill! The only advantage I have had about being stuck at home is grading papers and finishing report cards on time.  Anyway, that’s not what this post is about, the post is about something I’ve seen on the television during my week of solitary confinement. On MBC 4 ( Middle Eastern station)  There was an add that was informing and encouraging people  from different countries in the Middle East to audition for the ‘Arab’ version of ‘American’s Got Talent’. There have posted selected dates throughout the entire month of March in different Arab countries at specified hotels for auditions to be held. Guess, what. Cairo will be hosting two-days of auditions. 

On the 29th and 30th of March there will be crowds of people impatiently waiting their turn to audition in front of a panel of judges to see if they have enough talent at the Etab Theater in Giza. My Dad is a huge fan of the show, he gets so excited whilst watching the performers and then when a commercial comes up he sometimes leaps up from his chair and pretends he’s one of the contestants auditioning! I could swear they based the character Mr. Bean on him.

Living in Egypt for as long as I have and knowing the people the way I do. I am sure that the advert has been seen by thousands of people already and there will be hundreds upon hundreds of people prepping themselves for the auditions. Every Egyptian thinks that they are the next big thing! Can you imagine how many Sherine and Amr Diab wannabes are going to be there? Oh and the next up and coming Fifi Abdus  and Dina Belly Dancers!!! I’m sure there will be a few comedians too as well as some very interesting and very excentric personalities. So, as much as I love watching the auditions for American Idol, I am REALLY going to enjoy watching the auditions for this!

I just hope my Dad doesn’t hear about it. I dread to imagine what he might go and do!

If you want to know more about the audtitions and the event is go to the wwww.mbc.net/gt

