Early Saturday morning I was talking to a friend of mine on the phone and he seemed a bit uneasy. When I asked him what was wrong, he became really flustered. ‘You mean, you don’t know what has happened?’ (I racked my brain trying to think what I could have possibly let slip my mind. Nothing came to mind!) ‘mmmm, no, I guess I haven’t heard. Tell me what have I missed?’ I could sence my friend shaking his head in disbelief. ‘You mean to tell me that you didn’t hear the announcement made at midnight last night?’  By now I’m thinking the worst, Egypt’s declared war on someone or vice versa. It turns out that Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak, had to have surgery on his gallbladder in Germany and announced that he left Prime Minister Ahmed Nazif in charge.

The reason my friends knickers were in a twist was because he hoped that nothing would happen to the President. If, (God Forbid) anything were to happen to him during the operation, no one would be certain where Egypt would stand politically. Would his son take his place as President as everyone suspects will eventually happen or will the Islamic extremists get in and take over and turn Egypt in to the next Iran?

According to reports, Mubarak’s surgery went well and he is recovering. He’s eating solid food again and is moving (whatever that means). He should be back in Cairo before the end of the month.

Speedy Recovery Prez!

http://www.almasryalyoum.com/en/news/mubarak-be-discharged-end-week

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/show/312728,egyptian-president-mubarak-to-undergo-gall-bladder-surgery.html

