Yesterday, I was quite bold. I had been  waiting for an appointment to be confirmed and to be totally honest, I was beginning to run out of patience, so I gave the people a dead line. If by 5pm they hadn’t made their minds up, I was going to make other arrangements. 5pm came and six minutes later, I told the parties that the deadline had passed and I was going to go and watch Alice in Wonderland.

 I went to the cinema alone, (it’s unusual for a female to go alone in the Middle East). I got there just minutes before the movie started and bought my ticket and 3D glasses (you have to pay 15 LE  for your 3D glasses here in Egypt). The ticket price was a bit steep too 50LE!! I did go to the new cinema on the ground floor of the extension of City Stars, but I didn’t expect it to be that pricey.

I sat in my seat (seats here are numbered, you can’t sit where you like. It’s not the same as  North America, where you sit wherever you please) and put my 3D glasses on bracing myself for disappointment.

Why would I brace myself for disappointment? Well, I’m a bit of a traditionalist. I don’t like it when classic tales are adapted and they don’t meet my expectations. It really aggravate me. However, disappointment never came! I was pleasantly surprised and won over by the angle that Burton took in making the movie! I hail his efforts, now let me tell you why as best as I can without ruining the plot of the movie.

The approach he used was a lot like ‘The Return To Oz’, it wasn’t exactly The Wonderland we had read about as tiny tikes growing up. The characters that we know and love are pretty much the same and they stay true to their form and character. Alice goes back to Wonderland, not recalling that she had been there before. While she’s their she is told that she has a purpose that she needs to fulfil.

The girl who plays Alice in the movie is SENSATIONAL!! I can’t think of anyone who could have placed Alice better. Johny Depp and Helen B. Carter don’t let you down with their performances! They are almost unrecognizable! If I had not known going in to the cinema that Depp played The Mad Hatter, I wouldn’t have guessed it was him. He became the character, in fact I think the best way to describe his performance was,  ‘MAD’! (I think it’s about time he wins an Oscar!) Anne Hathaway played the ‘White Queen’ and she did a wonderful job playing an annoyingly gentle, kind, prim and proper Queen. It’s no wonder the Queen of hearts hated her so much.

The 3D effects of the movie were noticiable from the moment the film started! I thoroughly enjoyed it! The moment I came out I started tweeting and texting everyone I knew to recommend that they go and see it.

