I have to be totally honest! I was late getting on to the Twilight bandwagon. I kept resisting reading the books for months because I didn’t want to get caught up in the whirl wind of yet another fad. When a few staff members started reading and discussing it in the staff lounge at work, it caught my attention. I thought, ‘what the hell!’, It’s supposed to be about vampires and I am fascinated with the mythical beings. So, I went and bought the first book. Not realising what I was getting myself into. I was expecting something similar to the Chronicles of Narnia or J.K. Rowling’s, Harry Potter, but The Twilight series was very different.

When I read a book,  and become engrossed in it, the world that I exist in disappears and I dive into the world that I am reading. The words that describe a setting or a world become visible in my mind’s eye. The characters in the stories become clear too.  (not to the point where I can’t differentiate the difference between fiction and reality). When the Potter series started my family and I would have reading marathons. There would be three bookmarks in the book at one time. Once I started the first book by Stephenie Meyers I couldn’t put the book down. Hours would fly by and I wouldn’t even notice that the sun had set. I enjoyed Meyer’s interpretation of the vampire world. After finishing the first book in less than 48 hours, I was hooked and had to read the rest of the series. So, I made a hard choice between buying groceries and the next two books of the series. Pages have no calories, so, I went with the books! The more I read the more addicted I became. I read all 4 books in 5 days!

I think the reason why I became so interested in the book and characters is because, it’s set in the present time and the way Bella felt about Edward was how I felt about a person at one point in time. I felt like I had found my soul mate and hated it when we were apart from one another and very often I knew how he was feeling or if something was troubling him. The scene in ‘Full Moon’ where Edward broke up with Bella and told her that he didn’t love her and didn’t want to be with her anymore and she fell to the ground in the forest. That is almost a carbon copy of what happened to me. The only difference was he never came back to be with me. Then you have the all to familiar situation where a girl is torn between two good-looking young men whom are seeking her attention and devoted affection. I remember being in that dilemma a few times back in my late teens and early twenties.

I also have to come clean and admit that I am on team Edward. The character of the teen vampire is very close to what I like in reality. (Suave, intelligent, preppy, musical, romantic, protective, kind….etc) Except I would prefer the guy to be living, breathing, have a beating heart and not be tempted to bite my neck every time he got a whiff of my blood. Robert Pattinson brings an air of an old-fashioned ‘English Gentleman’. He himself I don’t find that irresistable, I prefer a tall mediterranean looking guy myself. Having said that though, if God was to through a man like that in my path with those hypnotic blue eyes & English accent…. well, what can I say? Beggars can’t be chooser, I would find it very hard to say ‘No’. (Just please…..let him be closer to my age and not 5-10 years younger)

Sadly though the movies are not living up to my expectations.  I know i’m going to get booed for saying this, but be very corny and sappy, (don’t get me started on the merchandise). The problem is that when I read any books before having watched the movie, it ruins the images that I had created and formed in my mind.It’s quite disappointing that the actors don’t fit the silhouettes that my mind has conjured up.  I know that if the movie to depict the books exact as they are written that would add to the cost and the movie would be almost 3 hours long. I think the location where the movie was filmed was perfect!! The characters who play Charlie (Bella’s Dad), Edward, Alice, Jasper, James, Elizabeth and a few others fit the bill (in my opinion). What baffles me is why the hell is Carlile’s hair peroxide blonde! It looks so fake!

I liked both the movies but I think I prefer the second movie to the first. I am looking forward to seeing ‘Eclipse’, the third movie in the Twilight series. I know it’s crazy, but I would have liked to audition for the part of either the Irish or the Egyptian coven. It would be nice if an Egyptian could be represented and played by a native from the country. unfortunately, the auditions have already taken place and living thousands of miles away on a different continent doesn’t help either.

I’m actually looking forward to her 5th book written from perspective of a new-born vampire!

