I am a huge fan of the popular CSI TV series. I enjoy watching the actors solve the crimes that have presented themselves. I like trying to piece the clues together to solve the crimes as I watch everything unfold.
Last night my mother came back from an Iftar with her former colleagues and told me that Egypt now has their adaptation of the American TV series. Her colleague said it’s a poor and comical attempt at trying to compete with the American series and only watches it to have a good laugh. When Mom relayed this new-found of information to me, I couldn’t help but laugh. I honestly didn’t believe her, so I went on-line to see if I could find out anything about it. Lo and behold, it’s true! Egypt’s leading lady Yusra, plays a medical examiner by the name of Fatma!
Don’t believe me, read for yourselves!

http://www.almasryalyoum.com/en/news/ramadan-tvs-usual-suspects

I just have one question, when will the entertainment industry here in Egypt stop copying the ideas of the west? Come on! I’m sure if some serious collaboration and brain storming is done with script writers, directors and producers, we (as in Egyptians), could come up with a unique and original idea of our own. It would be unique and something to be proud of! To this day ‘The Yacoubian Building’ still ranks number one for me!  It was written by an Egyptian and the story was captivating and had its audience talking and debating about it for weeks after it premiered. That is the caliber of work that we should be producing as the leading nation in cinema and entertainment in the Middle East.

It was suggested that I write a TV series. I am seriously considering it!

